Liadova
The outskirts of the village of Liadova are related to a unique natural object of the Podnistrovia. The village is located on the left bank of the Liadova River, near the big canyon of the Dniester River. This settlement is surrounded by steep slopes of valley where the outcrops of chalk made the caves separated by rocks and poles. The first settlement on this territory appeared about thousand years ago. This territory is famous for its rare plants, which everyone can see here every summer. It became famous for its ancient Orthodox monastery. The monastery was founded in the XV century, built in the rock and named “Athos of Podilia”. This unique building is located on the rocked terrace of the mountain of 90 metres of height above the Dniester River. The ensemble consists of three cave temples (the beheading of St. John’s the Baptist temple, St. Antonij’s Pecherskij temple and St. Praskovia’s temple). In 1848 the belfry was added to the beheading of St. John’s the Baptist temple. Afterwards this belfry was destroyed in 1938.
In the XVIII – XIX c.c. the burial of monks were acted here, which have been preserved up to the present day. The monastery is famous for its sources. According to the legend St. Antonij Pecherskij stayed at this monastery on his way from Athos to Kiev.
